2017. aug 28.

First week in Japan (Part 2)

írta: Sorachy
First week in Japan (Part 2)

Meeting my host-family, unpacking, first impressions

 

Alright, after a short break, here is the second part of my really awesome but equally tiring first week.

So when we arrived at Iwakuni airport, slightly shaking, we headed to the door, and that's pretty much the only thing I remember.Yasufumi  Moriwaki fényképe. No, they did not knock us out our or anything, I just had so much adrenaline pumping in my veins I literally have no memories about what they said, or what I said for that matter. I do remember however how I was grinning like an idiot (a happy idiot) and how stupid I felt when they took pictures.

A small time skip here; my host-family (I will leave the 'host' from now on) and I got in the car, and started our ride to the house, it was little bit longer than 1 hour. We talked about this and that... well, my father did most of the talking, while I admired the view. No kidding, Yamaguchi is breathtaking! (I put like a dozen pictures in this post which were taken about 10 meters from the house, and I still don't think you can really feel how amazing it is. Whenever I look out of the window, there are mountains and forest! Also, don't be mistaken, those are no ordinary trees, it's a bamboo forest! Like, how cool is that? :D)

After we got home, they showed me around, very kindly I might add, they even explained how to use the  toilet and such... :D I didn't and probably won't take any pictures for this blog about the inside of the house, since I strongly consider it a private matter, but take my word, it's a very sweet home, with both modern and traditional aspects. There's a traditional tatami mat room too, which they don't use at all, but it's there, so.

Soon I unpacked all my things and checked out everything in the room I share with my older little sister. Actually it's really nice and roomy, If we count the roof height it's about 3 times bigger than my old room. Of course, there's two of us living in it, but I have my own bed and desk, with a set of shelves and a cork board, too. :)

I quickly got familiar with all the animals around (there are mostly insects, like cicadas and huge butterflies), and I think I successfully adjusted to my family's lifestyle. Okay, I find it very challenging to wake up 7 AM every day, while I don't even have school yet (once it starts, it will be even earlier), everyone who knows me at least a tiny bit shouldn't be surprised when I say I'm anything but a morning person. Another thing I had to swallow was how my sisters were a bit too nosy. I came from a family where private space is highly respected, therefore I really wasn't used to people just looking through my stuff (every single item) without asking, while I haven't even finished unpacking. My little sister has kept this habit of hers and I regularly see her playing with my Rubik's cube. (Keep in mind though, I really like my family, this is probably the only unpleasant thing I can bring up. They even prepared a huge sushi party for my welcoming first night. <3)

In these past few days, my father and I had done my registering, so now I'm officially a legal inhabitant of Shunan city. We also went to my school and got my uniform, had a talk with my principal about rules and customized school life (for example, I will have a special Japanese class every week to improve my skills) and I also received a quick tour around my school. I was unlucky enough to be asked to introduce myself in front of the whole Music club, as they had practice (now it's summer break in Japan too, and the second third is going to start on the 1st of September, but some clubs still have practice on weekends and holidays), and as I expected of myself, I messed up. ^^" Apparently, when you introduce yourself in Japan, it should be around 1 minute long, and you are supposed to talk about your hobbies, hopes, dreams, the strange voices you hear inside your head, anything to fill out that time.

We also visited a shinto shrine not so far, which was built either in 1300, or 300 years earlier, I didn't understand that part quite well... :D The point is, it's old. And beautiful. And has a lot of moss on top. :D

Until school starts, I'm just passing my time with anything my family asks me to do, like taking my little sister to her cram school, shopping for meals, and studying Japanese. My older sister (she's still younger than me by one year) already has school, and my father is at work, so mostly I spend time with my mother, who actually doesn't live with the family, but her parents live next door and she helps out every day. She's really nice, so far she's the only one I can have proper conversation with, where we both understand each others Japanese. For what reason, I'm not sure, but it's working... :D

Talking about spending my time, yesterday there was a small summer festival thingie organized by the locals. Now, Shunan city is a very small city, it's rather a village actually, so there weren't too many people, but it was really fun! They lent me my sisters yukata too, so for the first time in my life, I wore the traditional Japanese attire, which is really cool and nice, but it pretty much kills your lower back. Seriously, do not wear a yukata or kimono without a good back masseur around! We went to the onsen (public bath) nearby afterwards, so thanks to the hot water I survived, but I'm warning you, Japanese women took "suffering for beauty" very seriously in those old days when their traditional clothing was invented... D:

By the way, if you are wondering about the usual questions, like am I really that tall compared to Japanese people, do they notice me a lot and what's the food like, let me answer those now.

I am very tall, like, very very tall compared to girls, and most of the boys, but I did see people who were taller than me (without high heels, that's important to know). I'm 167 cm, so I'm not that super tall either, but I still hit my head on the lamp above the dinning table whenever I stand up... :D

They do notice me a lot, but they only stare at me when they think I don't notice, also, kids stare right in my face. I have a story actually, the other day we were shopping in the mall for school supplies, and a random kid, around 6 years old, came up to me, stared at me for a good minute, while I just looked at him with a 'hi there, this is normal, okay' face, then he run up to his mother while shouting "That thing is not Japanese!". I still don't know how to react to that! :D 

The food is really good, and you don't have to imagine something extreme. Yes, they fed me oyster and natto, no, I didn't like those, but other than that, it's just fish, octopus, crab, meat, pasta and lots of rice!

As for now, that's all I have to say, my next update will probably arrive after I started school, until then I will read my brand new manga books I bought (in Japanese) like 2 hours ago (for learning purposes of course...), and my mother doesn't need to know about. :D

Until then, thank you so much for reading, and give a hug to my Hungarian friends and family for me if you have the chance! <3

Additional photos I couldn't fit into the text:

(I saw this turtle on a kids channel in the TV. No comment.)

Szólj hozzá

Trip Japan AFS daily life exchange program host-family